Written by eric on October 28, 2009.
Posted in News Bits, Using the Internet, Web Site Design.
It’s now official: Geocities is dead, and Yahoo is responsible. It wasn’t without warning; Yahoo announced six months ago that it would be shutting down Geocities (and all of the user sites it was hosting). As of today, it appears that all Geocities user sites are no longer available to view online.
Geocities, like WebSpawner, started offering free web space to users back in the mid 1990′s. Through ad-supported free hosting, both companies have helped millions of people who may not have otherwise been able to create or host a web site to get a site online for free.
Yahoo acquired Geocities back in 1999, but a decade later decided to pull the plug on it entirely, leaving its user base without the free hosting solution so many had come to depend upon. Yahoo decided to do this despite more than 10 million monthly unique visitors to the sites of Geocities users, according to WebProNews.com, stating that Geocities and its user base were “no longer counted among Yahoo’s priorities.” Geocities is just the latest service axed at the Yahoo chopping block; about 20 Yahoo services have been discontinued this year.
All of us here at WebSpawner would like to extend our condolences to the many ex-Geocities users affected by this decision. We’ve been providing millions of users with free web sites since 1996 and we continue to do so. If you were affected by the Geocities shutdown and would like a new dependable free solution for hosting a site online, we welcome you to create a free web site with WebSpawner today.
Continue Reading
Written by eric on July 22, 2009.
Posted in Using the Internet, Web Page Tips.
The SuperLinks Directory is a searchable human-edited internet directory of quality content website links and articles, organized by topic for easy navigation.
Unlike search engines, which include millions of links in effort to index every site on the internet, the SuperLinks Directory includes only quality web sites which will be useful to its users. By using real live human editors to review and approve sites for inclusion, SuperLinks Directory strives to provide a quality online resource for web surfers everywhere.
You may have heard about “link farms” and other reciprocal linking schemes used in order to try to gain an advantage of higher positioning in search engine results; however, the major search engines like Google and Yahoo frown upon these and can actually penalize your site’s listing position as a result. In contrast, the human-edited aspect of SuperLinks Directory results in only quality web sites being included, and a link from SuperLinks Directory to your site will be viewed as a quality inbound link by major search engine algorithms… this can result in higher positioning in search engine results and perhaps even a boost in your site’s PageRank score.
Additionally, a link in the SuperLinks Directory can increase traffic to your web site directly as SuperLinks users can find a direct link to your site under a category in which they are interested, without having to wade through page after page of search engine results to find your listing.
Perhaps best of all, submitting your site to the SuperLinks Directory for inclusion is absolutely free; there are no fees required, and no strings attached. SuperLinks Directory is ad-supported, and does not charge for submission of links or articles. Creation of a free account is required before you can submit a link or article, and submissions must comply with the posted Submission Guidelines.
If you manage a web site which presents quality content, or if you are a writer and would like to expand your reader base, you can benefit substantially from inclusion of your articles or link in the SuperLinks Directory. You have nothing to lose, but additional traffic to gain. Visit the SuperLinks Directory at www.SuperLinksDirectory.com today to create your FREE account and submit your article or web site link!
Continue Reading
Written by eric on October 6, 2008.
Posted in News Bits, Using the Internet.
We are now able to provide more details on the Wachovia Phishing Scam that we warned about in a previous post a few days ago, as we received one of the phishing emails here at WebSpawner this weekend.
Following is the text of the email as we received it, with relevant header information included:
From: “Wachovia connection Update”
Subject: Wachovia Connection Alert – Update.
Received: from 46-7-112-92.pool.ukrtel.net (unverified [92.112.7.46])
Message-Id: <23492.jorgen@sanjay>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=”=_9OyEKqboHv5TFx”
WACHOVIA CORPORATION NOTICE.
At Wachovia we’ve re-imagined what’s possible for online cash management.
The next step in the transformation of Wachovia Connection is access through a new Wachovia Security Plus Certificate.
This will allow you to access securely the Wachovia Connection and other online services.
All users will be notified and must manually install the Wachovia Security Plus Certificate.
Installation takes about two minutes.
Start installation process now>>
Sincerely, Betsy Parsons.
2008 Wachovia Corporation.
All rights reserved.
The “Start installation process now>>” text in the email is a link to what appears to be a Wachovia impostor web site with a long URL address at a “polesbue.com” domain. For security purposes we have not included the link itself in the message text above, to prevent any viewers of this article from accidentally accessing the impostor site. The site contains a link to “Download the latest WachoviaDCertInstall.exe release”, which is an executable file that could include a computer virus or trojan horse.
Wachovia bank itself is not the sender of these emails; the “From” address in the email is spoofed to appear to come from Wachovia. A search of the ARIN WHOIS database for the IP address shown in the “Received: from” line of the header information indicates that the message was sent through an IP address associated with a “RIPE Network Coordination Centre” located in Amsterdam. That isn’t to say that RIPE itself is responsible for the message; it may have been sent by another individual or party using RIPE’s services or mail server.
Should you receive a message like the one above, you should delete it without clicking the link it contains.
Continue Reading
Written by eric on September 30, 2008.
Posted in News Bits, Using the Internet.
A browse of news web sites this morning reveals that a new phishing scam has been identified. The phishing emails disguise themselves as being from Wachovia, one of several banks currently experiencing difficulties and at the heart of the current Wall Street financial crisis.
The phishing emails falsely indicate that they are a “Wachovia Corporation Notice” and request personally identifying information for the recipient to receive a “Wachovia Security Plus Certificate.”
In some reports, the phishing emails are said to contain a computer virus known as the “Gozi” Trojan Horse, which could result in an infected computer and personal data exposure.
As with any other phishing emails, individuals who receive this latest Wachovia email should simply delete it immediately without clicking any links within.
For more information on phishing scams and how to avoid becoming a victim, see our previous article titled Avoiding Internet Pitfalls: “Phishing” Scams. For tips on how to keep your computer from becoming infected with Trojan Horses and other viruses, see our previous post Avoiding Internet Pitfalls: Malware.
Continue Reading